Port Jefferson names tenured educators; bids farewell to retirees, board member

Port Jefferson names tenured educators Photo thumbnail79111

At its June 13 meeting, the Port Jefferson Board of Education bid a farewell to three retiring employees and congratulated three educators on receiving tenure.

District administrators stood to speak highly of retirees Lorraine Novellino, an elementary school teacher; Carrie Morgan, a high school art teacher, and Maureen Colin, a teacher aide.

“We wish each of you the very best in the next phase of your lives,” said Board of Education President Kathleen Brennan.

After heartfelt goodbyes, the district approved tenure for Caitlin Terrell, a teaching assistant; Selinda Moore, a library media specialist, and Paige Lohmann, a special education teacher.

In addressing the newly tenured employees, Ms. Brennan said, “We hope you each continue to the promise we have seen in you and you have a long and successful career here in Port Jefferson.”  

Additionally, the board of education took a moment to recognize retiring member Robert Ramus, who has served on the board since 2008.

“He has been a dedicated board member and has even served on three committees at a time,” said Ms. Brennan. “He has provided very valuable insights throughout his tenure and we wish him well.

The board additionally thanked student board member Kyra Becker for her service and wished her well on her future. Kyra will be attending Liberty College in the fall to pursue studies in finance and cyber security.